Every day is a new day…

Blogging has become very popular in today’s society as technology has become the new must do thing. As I myself blog, I know that I can blog about whatever I care for except when I am given a certain topic by my professor. From having a blog, I have learned that blogging is like freedom because anything goes. If you want to write about controversy events, you are able to on a blog.

I have never thought about the origin of the blog and after some research discovered the term ‘blog’ came from the word ‘weblog.’ When breaking down the two parts of the word into ‘web’ and ‘blog’ everything began to make more sense. The term ‘web’ refers to the internet or the act of being online. The word ‘blog’ comes from the acting of compiling documents. Together they mean the act of compiling documents online. The only thing I do not understand is how blog came from weblog. I guess bloggers thought it was cooler to say blog than weblog. Weblog seems sort of like an outdated term, I guess.

I do not think that by knowing the origin of blogs my thoughts have changed regarding the metaphor that I have chosen for it. Blogging in my mind is still an act of freedom because you have the freedom to write whatever you want. I now know that blogging came from a word meaning compilation of documents, and I think the compilation of documents you choose to write about is up to you.

Leave a comment